Skip to main content

What Are The 8 Limbs Of Yoga?

The term yoga means to unite or connect. It can also be defined as the ‘separation’ or ‘disentanglement’. Yoga is practised to separate ourselves from the outer world and connect with our true self, which in Yogic philosophy is known as ‘Atman’. The main goal of performing yoga is to obtain freedom or moksha. You can achieve this freedom of mind and soul by following the ‘Ashtanga’ or the right fold limbs of yoga. The word Ashtanga has been derived from the word ‘ashta’ meaning eight and ‘anga’ meaning limb. The eight limbs of yoga are:

YAMA- This is the first limb of Yoga as per the Yoga Sutras of Patanjali. It is all about promises, vows, moral disciplines and restraints that are primarily concerned with the interaction we do with the outer world. There are 5 YAMAS- Ahimsa, Satya, Asteya, Brahmacharya and Apargraha.

NIYAMA- It means a routine that we should follow or the duty that we have towards ourselves as well as others in our day-to-day life. Niyama is the second limb, and the word ‘Ni’ means inward. There are 5 Niyamas that an individual should follow-

  • Saucha- cleanliness
  • Santosha- Contentment
  • Tapas- Discipline
  • Svadhyaya- Self-reflection
  • Isavapranidaha- Surrendering to the higher authority

Niyamas are followed by those individuals who wish to become a Yogi in future and wants to reflect upon themselves.

ASANA-This is the third limb and the physical aspect of Yoga. Practicing Yoga poses (ASANA) can lead you towards the path of liberty. It is the ‘seat’ where you’ll practice meditation. The Hatha Yoga Pradipta i.e. the traditional yoga text not only talks about Padmasana or Virasana but it also talk about the alignment ‘Sthira sukham asanam’ which is a posture/position that the yogi can easily practice without moving and can hold themselves comfortably.

PRANAYAMA- It is the breathing technique which affects our mind. The Pranayama can be understood as ‘prana’ and ‘Yama’ meaning breath control, or it could be better translated as ‘Freedom of Breath’. The physical act of practising stimulating pranayama techniques changes our mind in different ways.

PRATYAHARA- We can understand the term Pratyahara by understanding two parts of this word- first is ‘Pratya’ meaning to ‘drawback’ and ‘ahara’ meaning to take in something (smell, sight or sound spontaneously)This is the probably the first thing that we do before starting any asana or yoga. We try to focus on the way we breathe to change our state of mind.

DHARANA- Dharana means ‘Focused attention’. This limb is directly linked to Dharana and Pratyahara. To focus our attention on one particular thing, we need to withdraw all our senses from the other concentration points. Some of the dharanas are candle gazing (Tratak), focusing and visualisation.

DHYANA- Dhyana is the seventh limb of yoga, and it is the full state of concentration while we meditate. It can also be known as ‘meditative absorption’. It is a practice that requires deep concentration and meditation.

SAMADHI- As per the Patanjali Yoga Sutra, Samadhi is the final anga. Once we learn to organize our relationship with our inner self as well as the outer world, we can find bliss. Samadhi means a state of fulfillment, happiness and ecstasy.

So, these are the eight limbs of yoga that you must know about. Without knowing them, doing yoga is not possible.


Popular posts from this blog

How to Boost Immune System Naturally by Food

The current situation of the world is very bad which is suffering from one natural disaster of COVID-19 and this time everyone should be very careful for yourself and others. a little bit of caution and adjustment in our daily activities can bring about a lot of difference. As per WHO, the virus is more likely to affect people who do not have a good immune system and fall sick quite often. During this time, which affects mostly old age people and children so you need to take care of your health and others so that no one will fall sick. Below are some foods which help to boost your immunity system 1 Turmeric   Turmeric is already an alternate medicine for many diseases. Turmeric is the best immunity booster you can take this with a hot milk and in your vegetables Also Read: Yoga Asanas to Boost Immune Power 2.  Green Tea - In modern lifestyle everyone is having green tea and why not because It's loaded with antioxidants and which have lots of healt

The Best Types of Yoga Mats

A yoga mat is a special kind of sticky mat that is used while doing yoga so that the hands and feet do not slip during the practice. Earlier, meditative yoga and hatha yoga were practiced on bare ground or the grass. However, in modern times, yoga mats have become essential as one can practice yoga on any surface (hot or cold), and at any place, be it home or wherever one wants. They prevent the hands and feet from slipping during yoga practice. They provide cushions which can help you sit on a hard surface and give some relief to the knees and toes while practicing yoga on a hard surface.  Types of Yoga Mats Yoga mats are generally around six feet long with a width of two feet. Their range in thickness varies from lightweight (2 mm), standard (3 mm), and up to 6 mm for either high -performance mats or soft mats for yoga therapy. Some of the best types of yoga mats are as follows: Basic Sticky Yoga Mats: These are the most common types of yoga mats which can be used by the beginners. T

List of Sprout Food and Right Way to Eat

We all eat multiple foods and items all day but sprouted food is very important for physical and mental health. Sprouts include Vitamin A,B,C and K, calcium, potassium, magnesium, iron and other minerals. They are rich in many nutrients. It include vitamin C which gives the power in body to fight from the disese and build immunity system . Sprouts cures diseases, easily absorbed by the body, a good source of instant energy, easily digestible and with lots of other health benefits. Also, it comes in everyone’s budget. Sprouts are the soaked seeds and the starch of the grain sprouts gets converted into glucose and protein into amino acid and become easily digestible and generate strength in the body. With the regular consumption of sprouted food, human beings look beautiful, healthy and disease free. List of Sprout Food Items Single Seed - wheat, barley, maize etc. Bean Sprout - Soybean, mung bean, kidney bean, black chickpeas, white chickpeas, green pea, green moong pulse